Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Anonymous strikes again in Mexico

The Americas Post - Anonymous doesn't like the flavor of the Mexican SOPA. Photo Credit: YouTube


Members of the international hacker group Anonymous said on Friday they had attacked Mexican government websites  in protest of a bill seeking official controls over release of information on the internet.

Beginning in the morning, disabled websites included the Ministry of Interior (www.segob.gob.mx), Senate (www.senado.gob.mx), and Chamber of Deputies (www.diputados.gob.mx).  Hours later, the sites were restored.

The reform initiative launched in December by Senator Federico Doring, of the ruling National Action Party (PAN), makes it a crime to share copies of works, music, videos and books protected by copyright on the internet, without authorization of the owners.

“We demand that the Mexican government discontinue this law because it takes away freedom of expression and file sharing,” the group said in a video posted on YouTube to explain the cyberattack.

Anonymous compared the reform proposed by Doring with the U.S. online anti-piracy bill known as SOPA, which was frozen by the Congress last week after major Internet firms protested against the measure.

The government said that Ministry of Interior databases were not at risk during the interruption.

“At no time was the site compromised; integrity of the information was assured,” said Interior Secretary Alejandro Poire, in a press conference in the city of Merida.

“We will check security protocols of the Secretariat website to ensure data integrity and avoid such attacks in the future,” he said.

In September, Anonymous successfully blocked the National Defense Secretariat (SEDENA) website, as well as Congressional web pages for Nayarit state and state government of San Luis Potosi.

That attack was carried out to protest insecurity in Mexico, amid drug-related violence that has killed more than 47,500 people since President Felipe Calderon took office in December 2006.